Minor League Record Book: Home Runs in a Season

Talk about repeats! Take a look at the most home runs in a minor league season by a VBL alum since the 2006 draft…

1 Clint Robinson Harrisonburg ’05-06 2010 29
2 Jonathan Griffin Luray ’10 2012 28
Rudy Flores Haymarket ’10 2014 28
4 Michael Snyder Haymarket ’11 2013 25
Mac Williamson Harrisonburg ’11 2013 25
6 Ryan Schmipf Luray ’08 2014 24
7 Clint Robinson Harrisonburg ’05-07 2011 23
Ryan Schmipf Luray ’08 2013 23
Ryan Schmipf Luray ’08 2015 23
10 Ryan Schmipf Luray ’08 2012 22
Ryan McBroom Haymarket ’11-12 2016 22

The first thing you should notice about this list is the repeats- Clint Robinson appears twice, and Ryan Schimpf shows up FOUR times- and even four years in a row! Ryan hit 22 or more minor league home runs in 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015. Why is he NOT on the list in 2016? He hit 15 home runs in Triple-A, and then 20 more in San Diego, in the majors. Wow.

Robinson, Schimpf, and Mac Williamson have all played in the majors. Rudy Flores and Ryan McBroom are still active, but Jonathan Griffin and Michael Snyder are not. (Snyder and McBroom were teammates in 2011 in Haymarket!)

Next up: RBIs!

Rudy Flores at High-A Visalia in 2014
Rudy Flores at High-A Visalia in 2014

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s