2017 Short-Season A Pitcher of the Year

Next up in our tour around the minor leagues is our short-season A-ball pitcher of the year. This award is given to a pitcher in either the Northwest or New York-Penn Leagues.

First, history:

2016- Jordan DeLorenzo (Front Royal 2013)
2015- Brody Greer (Rockbridge 2012)
2014- Ryan Yarbrough (Luray 2012)

The short-season A-ball pitcher of the year is Nick Margevicius (Staunton 2015)! Nick, who was profiled in these pages just a few days ago, was fantastic for Tri-City in the Northwest League. Nick went 3-0, 1.24 in 6 starts and 29 innings, along with a 0.83 WHIP, 1.2 BB/9, and 9.9 K/9.

Others to consider:

  • Jim McDade (Strasburg 2013), also for Tri-City: 1-0, 0.00, 13 2/3 innings, 0.73 WHIP, 0.0 BB/9, 9.2 K/9
  • Nate Pearson (Staunton 2016), for Vancouver of the Northwest League: 0-0, 0.95, 19 innings, 0.58 WHIP, 2.4 BB/9, 11.4 K/9

Nic Margevicius Tri City pitching

One comment

  1. […] Even though Nick hadn’t thrown a regular-season pitch above A-ball until last night, he was really, really good in A-ball. In 2017, after the draft, he was assigned to the Rookie-level Arizona League, and went 1-1, 1.42 in 5 games and 19 innings, with just 4 walks and 30 strikeouts. He then went to Tri-City, in the Northwest League, and went 3-0, 1.24 in 6 games and 29 innings, with 4 walks and 32 strikeouts. He was ATVL’s short-season Pitcher of the Year. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s