2017 Major League Pitcher of the Year

We’ve reached the end- this is the last post on level superstars from the 2017 Minor and Major League seasons! Let’s take a look at previous ML Pitchers of the Year:

2016- Chris Devenski (Woodstock 2011)
2015- Will Harris (Staunton 2003)
2014- David Carpenter (Covington 2004)
2013- David Carpenter (Covington 2004)

Interesting stuff- like Daniel Murphy before him, Chris Devenski is a repeat winner… and the 5th year in a row the winner has been a reliever. Devenski was lights-out again for the Houston Astros; after he finished 4th in Rookie of the Year voting in 2016, he was an All-Star in 2017. He finished 8-5, 2.68, with 4 saves, a 0.942 WHIP, 2.9 BB/9, and 11.2 K/9 in 80 2/3 innings pitched….. and a World Series title. That’s an awesome season!

Others to Consider:

  • Chad Kuhl (New Market 2012): 8-11, 4.35, 1.47 WHIP, 4.1 BB/9, 8.1 K/9 in 157 1/3 innings for Pittsburgh
  • Emilio Pagan (Harrisonburg 2010): 2-3, 3.22, 0.93 WHIP, 1.4 BB/9, 10.0 K/9 in 50 1/3 innings for the Seattle Mariners
  • Will Harris (Staunton 2003): 3-2, 2.98, 2 saves, 0.97 WHIP, 1.4 BB/9, 10.3 K/9 in 45 1/3 innings for Houston.
The 2017 ML Pitcher of the Year!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s