In our next installment of the expanded Valley League record book (1994-2019), we have walks.

1Jason KipnisCovington200749
2Pat IrvineWaynesboro200748
3Mike SchwartzHarrisonburg200943
Jay GonzalezHarrisonburg201143
Mike MarcinkoWaynesboro201443
6Sanchez GartmanNew Market200942
Ryan SullivanCovington201242
8David StoneStaunton200141
Chris AninosWaynesboro200741
Nathan MinnichWinchester201141
Jordan TarsovichStrasburg201341
12Austin SchultzHaymarket201040
Rob KralWaynesboro200940
14Seth KivettNew Market200939
Matt GandyCharles Town201439
16Paul WildersNew Market199538
Timothy BoethWaynesboro199838
Ryan AdamsWaynesboro200838
Sherman JohnsonCovington200938
Jomarcus WoodsWaynesboro201338


  • It’s hard to believe that a player would walk just shy of 50 times in one season, but that’s how locked in Jason Kipnis was back in 2007. (I had him as the top hitter in the league, even though he didn’t win the MVP (which I disagreed with at the time. And now. Of course, that might be because I had several conversations with Kipnis back then.).
  • Waynesboro has a whopping seven guys on this list; Covington and New Market have three; Harrisonburg has two, and Staunton, Winchester, Strasburg, Haymarket, and Charles Town have one. Woodstock, Front Royal, Charlottesville have none (I’m counting Charles Town as Purcellville, by the way).
  • Only one MVP exists on this list- Jordan Tarsovich.
  • Two guys reached the major leagues- Jason Kipnis and Sherman Johnson.
  • Next up- stolen bases!