Today we’ll take a peek at the best pitchers at the highest level of the minor leagues… who have played in the Valley League, of course.

There are not nearly as many as with the Double-A award, but let’s take a look anyway. First, though, previous winners:

2019- Randy Dobnak (Front Royal 2015)
2018- Austin Gomber (Luray 2012)
2017- Ryan Yarbrough (Luray 2012)
2016- Chad Kuhl (New Market 2012)
2015- Scott Copeland (Staunton 2007)
2014- Adam Liberatore (Waynesboro 2007-08)
2013- Adam Liberatore (Waynesboro 2007-08)
2012- Brandon Dickson (New Market 2006)
2011- Rob Delaney (New Market 2003)
2010- Brandon Beachy (Woodstock 2008)

By the way, every single one of these winners pitched in the major leagues.

The 2021 Triple-A Pitcher of the Year is the former Staunton (2014) righthander Ryan Meisinger! Meisinger, pitching for Triple-A Oklahoma City and Iowa, went a combined 3-2, 3.35, with three saves, a 1.36 WHIP, 4.5 BB/9, and 13.9 K/9 in 40 1/3 innings. (The Dodgers claimed him off waivers at the end of August.) He also pitched briefly in the majors in 2021, allowing 10 earned runs in 7 1/3 innings.

Others to Consider

  • Kevin Herget (Strasburg 2012): Columbus: 7-5, 4.48, two saves, a 1.31 WHIP, 2.6 BB/9, and 9.5 K/9 in 80 1/3 innings
  • Brooks Wilson (Waynesboro 2015): Gwinnett: 0-0, 1.50 in six innings
Aug 15, 2021; Miami, Florida, USA; Chicago Cubs relief pitcher Ryan Meisinger (64) throws to first base during the eighth inning against the Miami Marlins at loanDepot Park. Mandatory Credit: Rhona Wise-USA TODAY Sports