Hey there, Brilliant Reader! We’ve reached the end of another series, finally, wrapping up the pro hitters and pitchers of the year from the 2021 season.

Today, we have the Major League Hitter of the Year, which, unfortunately, came down to only one guy who had enough at-bats to be considered… but first, previous winners:

2021- Tommy La Stella (Haymarket 2009)
2020- Tommy La Stella (Haymarket 2009)
2019- Brett Gardner (New Market 2003-04)
2018- Yonder Alonso (Luray 2006)
2017- Daniel Murphy (Luray 2004-05)
2016- Daniel Murphy (Luray 2004-05)
2015- Jason Kipnis (Covington 2006-07)
2014- Brett Gardner (New Market 2003-04)
2013- Jason Kipnis (Covington 2006-07)
2012- Jon Jay (Staunton 2004)
2011- Gaby Sanchez (Staunton 2003)
2010- Gaby Sanchez (Staunton 2003)

And for the third year in a row, Tommy La Stella comes away with the award!

La Stella, playing for the surprisingly good San Francisco Giants, had 220 at-bats in 2021, in which he hit .250/.308/.405, with 11 doubles, one triple, seven home runs, 27 RBIs, and a solid 18/26 BB/K ratio.

La Stella has carved out a nice little career for himself; he’s hit .270/.343/.405 in 1,536 career at-bats, with 83 doubles, 38 home runs, and an excellent 161/185 BB/K ratio. He played for Haymarket in 2009.

Some of the guys that might have a shot at this in 2022 (assuming we have a season at all): Michael Brosseau, Brett Gardner, La Stella, and Romy Gonzalez. It’s quite interesting how the VBL seems to develop more pro pitchers than pro hitters. I wonder why that is?